Food for thought: Erma Bombeck

“Seize the moment. Remember all those women on the Titanic who waved off the dessert cart.” -Erma Bombeck


IMG_4931.jpg
Bone Fire Smokehouse BBQ sandwich. Abingdon, Virginia. Photo by Raina Wiseman.

Apparently, posting photos of your food on social media annoys some people. I never think this is annoying myself, but I do think people judge you for what you eat.

In a world of social media, it’s easy to think more selectively about our posts and how you can present yourself in the best way. People will probably think you’re more health-conscious if you post your salmon and asparagus instead of your Sweet Frog bowl.

IMG_1741.jpg
A Sweet Frog bowl from my Instagram. Photo by Raina Wiseman.

But aren’t we all enjoy those unhealthy foods? Don’t we revel in the carbs? Don’t we get a kick out of them?

I think that’s what Bombeck means here. Why would we refuse the dessert cart if we really want it? Life is short. Why would we put off posting our beautiful pictures of fancy French toast at hole-in-the-wall restaurants we find just because our followers might think our eating habits are bad.

IMG_1785.jpg
Some thigh-thickening french toast. Photo by Raina Wiseman.

I recently posted a picture of such a brunch on my Instagram profile, and someone commented that it looked “like the most satisfyingly thigh-thickening” French toast.

While I thought the comment was hilarious (because it’s true), I also found myself feeling like I needed to post about kale or something else super healthy to make up for it.

But let’s all agree to show what makes us happy or what we eat when we want something special.

IMG_1810.jpg
Tiramisu cake. Photo by Raina Wiseman.

And as for food posts, I say keep ’em coming. Some people like to know what foods other people are trying.

Leave a Reply

